Mr Olympia

"If you do what you always did, you will get what you always got."
- Ronnie Coleman

Mr. Olympia is probably the world's best known international bodybuilding competition. It held annually by the International Federation of BodyBuilders (IFBB). To win this title is the most prestigious title in pro bodybuilding.

Created by Joe Weider, Mr Olympia was held in 1965 at the Brooklyn Academy of Music (New York City) for the first time. There is also a Ms Olympia title for female bodybuilders. In addition there are also competitions for Fitness Olympia and Figure Olympia held at the same time.

The youngest competitor in history was Harold Pool, who won the Mr Olympia twice. The first time when he was 21 years old.

Amongst the winners are also Sergio Oliva ("The Myth"), Arnold Schwarzenegger, Frank Zane (Mr Muscular Definition), Franco Colmbu, Chris Dickerson (Mr Low Body Fat).

Mr Olympia was also highlighted by the movie Pumping Iron, which featured next to Arnold also other competitors like Lou Ferrigno, Serge Nubret and Franco Columbu.

Mr. Olympia Showdown 2007
Mr. Olympia 2007 - Jay Cutler and Ronnie Coleman duel - Front Double Biceps, Lat Spread, Side Chest, Back Double Biceps, Side Triceps, Abdominals and Thighs
"Are you armed?""Turn around and spread 'em!"

Amongst the most controversial victories were Schwarzenegger's comeback from retirement in 1980, Columbu's title in 1981 and Ronnie Coleman's title in 2001.

Incredible was Lee Haney's record of eight consecutive Mr Olympia titles, starting in 1984. Ronnie Coleman repeated eight consecutive Mr Olympia titles from 1998 onwards.

In 2006 Ronnie's desire of 9 consecutive titles was crushed by Jay Cutler, who was also able to defend this title in 2007.

In order to participate in the competition you need to fulfill one of the below criteria:

  • Previous Mr. Olympia winner (but if more than 5 years have passed IFBB approval is required)
  • Top 6 finalist from previous year's Mr. Olympia
  • Top 6 finalist from same year's Arnold Classic
  • Top 5 finalist from same year's New York Men's Professional (previously the Night of the Champions)
  • Top 3 finalist from any other competition in the I.F.B.B professional tour held during the subsequent year prior to the Mr. Olympia
  • The winner of the Masters Professional World Championships

The only exception is a special invite which was once granted to Arnold Schwarzenegger in 1980, which was also heavily influenced by the fact that he won the title from 1970-1975.

NABBA Mr Universe winners since 1990:

1965-1966Larry Scott2
1967-1969Servio Oliva 3
1970-1975Arnold Schwarzenegger7
1976 Franco Columbu2
1977-1979Frank Zane3
1980Arnold Schwarzenegger7
1981 Franco Columbu2
1982Chris Dickerson1
1983 Samir Bannout1
1984-1991Lee Haney8
1992-1997Dorian Yates6
1998-2005Ronnie Coleman8
2006-2007Jay Cutler2

Jay Cutler won the 2007 title, very aesthetic 34 year old Victor Martinez was second and graceful Dexter Jackson (The Blade) with great hamstrings, glutes and midsection got in on third.

back to top of Mr Olympia